top of page

Scriptures that bring comfort

Sister Mandy Woodruff

Relief Society First Counselor

A while back, one of my children either had a primary lesson or a Friend magazine with scripture references for different feeling or situations we may find ourselves with. I highlighted each of these scriptures in red pen with the associated feeling written in the margin so they would be fairly easy to spot as I flip through my scriptures. I came across one in Alma the other day as I was studying "Come Follow Me." These scriptures are comforting to me even if I'm not seeking them out. I hope they can have special meaning to all of you too.



Scriptures for when you wonder if you'll be happy again:

2 Nephi 2:25- Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.


.....for when you are about to do something important:

2 Nephi 32:9- But behold, I say unto you that ye must pray always, and not faint; that ye must not perform any thing unto the Lord save in the first place ye shall pray unto the Father in the name of Christ, that he will consecrate thy performance unto thee, that thy performance may be for the welfare of thy soul.


.....for when you feel stuck:

Alma 38:5- And now my son, Shiblon, I would that ye should remember, that as much as ye shall put your trust in God even so much ye shall be delivered out of your trials, and your troubles, and your afflictions, and ye shall be lifted up at the last day.


.....for when you feel afraid:

John 14:27- Peace I leave with you:not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.


.....for  when you need to feel loved:

John 15:9- As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you, continue ye in my love.

John 15:10- If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father's commandments, and abide in his love.


.....for when you are worried.

Romans 8:28- And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are called according to His purpose.


.....for when it feels like everyone is against you.

Romans 8:31- What shall we then say to these things?  If God be for us, who can be against us?


.....for when you feel sad.

Revelation 21:4- And God shall wipe away all the tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
This is not an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

All Contents are © 2024 by Washington 11th Ward.

Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page