top of page

We should not underestimate or overlook the power of the Lord’s tender mercies.

A while ago, I was meeting with a bishop to kind of get my life back on track. I had some things I needed help repenting of and a lot of other things I needed guidance about. I felt like I had been going through this trial forever, even though it had only been a few months. I was heartbroken, scared, had nobody to talk to about it, and felt like I was alone. However, in the course of talking with Bishop, my heart and eyes were opened to the love of our Savior and Brother. As I explained everything to bishop, he said something, almost in passing. “I’m so sorry, I wish I could take all this away for you.” And the love of God just overflowed in my heart. I looked at bishop, filled with the spirit, and said “It’s okay. Somebody already has.” It was in that moment of true despair and isolation that I felt the power of our savior’s atonement. It wasn’t just for sins and transgressions. It was for the sadness, too. I knew that Jesus Christ had felt what I was currently feeling and that helped me so much. One last quote that kind of pertains to this is something I’ve always thought back to when things get hard. Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles taught of the power of the Lord to help you: “We should not underestimate or overlook the power of the Lord’s tender mercies. The simpleness, the sweetness, and the constancy of the tender mercies of the Lord will do much to fortify and protect us in the troubled times in which we do now and will yet live. When words cannot provide the solace we need or express the joy we feel, when it is simply futile to attempt to explain that which is unexplainable, when logic and reason cannot yield adequate understanding about the injustices and inequities of life, when mortal experience and evaluation are insufficient to produce a desired outcome, and when it seems that perhaps we are so totally alone, truly we are blessed by the tender mercies of the Lord and made mighty even unto the power of deliverance.” I just wanted to share that I know these things are true. I know that we’re never alone and that we have someone who loves us, unconditionally, all of the time. I say these things in Jesus’ name, amen. Thanks, Skyler Rogers.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
This is not an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

All Contents are © 2024 by Washington 11th Ward.

Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page