top of page

Jesus Christ, the Redeemer of all mankind


Brothers and Sisters, I hope you've had a very merry Christmas and wish you a happy New Year! What a year this has been. I hope you have seen the Lord's hand in many ways. This year we've had the wonderful blessing of studying The Book of Mormon for Come, Follow Me. I will admit, this year has been the perfect year to focus on The Book of Mormon, from "I will go and do" to "by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things". My testimony has been strengthened and my conversion to the gospel of Jesus Christ more solidified. I hope you all have had similar experiences. This past week in Come, Follow Me was on Christmas, but not just about Christ's birth. Here's a sentence from this week's section: We would have no reason to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ were it not for His atoning sacrifice, through which He saves us from sin and death, comforts us in afflictions, and helps us “be perfected in Him” (Moroni 10:32). I've always known this, yet to have it put into words really brought it to my heart. As many of you know I really love Christmas time, I love the season, I love the festivities, I love the general feeling of love for all, the lights, the music, the symbolism. We celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Yet that's not all. If it were not for His atoning sacrifice we would have no reason to celebrate. This "aha moment" has brought so much more meaning to my heart to Christmas, and I didn't think that was possible! :) The Book of Mormon is, indeed, another testament of Jesus Christ. It's study can bring us closer to Him and our Heavenly Father. I know The Book of Mormon is a testament of Christ and I know it's true. I'm so grateful we have it, to help us know more fully how we can come closer to Christ and be like him. Please make it a part of your regular study this upcoming year and the years to follow. I know our Heavenly Father loves us. He shows that love in many ways we can see and in many ways we have to seek, the finding of which brings even greater happiness and joy. I'm thankful for the desire I have to return to Him. I know that Jesus lives and he is our Redeemer. Only through his atonement can we return to our Heavenly Father. I am thankful for his birth, for his life, for his example, for his gospel and for his suffering for you and me, not only for our sins but also for our pains and sorrows, our struggles and our grief. I'm thankful for his giving of his life and taking it again. His atonement bridges that gulf and lights the way back to the presence of God our Father. I know he did this for everyone and I know he does and continues to do many great and important things for us today. Bless you this new year! President Jackson

Stake Presidency First Counselor.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
This is not an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

All Contents are © 2024 by Washington 11th Ward.

Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page