top of page

Serve by doing small and simple things

Sister Kaylee Whitehead

Ward Missionary

During these crazy times I have been contemplating ways I could better serve others. What I’ve come to learn is I am able to serve by doing small and simple things. I love the quote I came across by Steven E Snow, he said: “look for ways to bless the lives of others through seemingly simple acts of service”. I love this thought as it applies more often than not. For example, I may not be able to physically visit with my grandparents but I can call them on the phone or write them a letter. These days, with technology we are blessed to have the ability to Skype and see their faces. A simple phone call or letter can lift the spirits of a grandparent. Some other simple service ideas may include: Taking the trash cans out for your elderly Neighbor’s, holding the door open for people when your are out and about, smile (even if you have a mask on you can tell those who are smiling by their eyes), pay for someone’s meal in the drive way behind you, pick up trash, write letters to people, give someone flowers, serve within your home (serve your spouse or children), family history online, offer to babysit, to shop for or pick up groceries for elderly, message someone on social media, give someone a complement, make homeless kits, and praying for opportunities to serve others. Our Beloved Savior demonstrated acts of kindness and service throughout His earthly ministry. We can become more like him by following his example and showing love for others as he did. I know that giving service to others is an important aspect in this life. In my own life I’ve been blessed by simple acts of service by so many and it has made an impact in my life. I know each and everyone of you will experience blessings by serving others.

I challenge you to look for little ways in which you can serve others. Pray for opportunities. I know it will bless the lives of the people you are serving and in your own life.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
This is not an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

All Contents are © 2024 by Washington 11th Ward.

Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page